Workspaces refer to a user's temporary personal drive space within a Content Hub project, designed to store and share unstructured media. Workspaces are granted to users on a project-by-project basis. Therefore, files uploaded to the Workspace on one project wouldn’t be seen in the Workspace of another project in Content Hub -- even for the same user.
Our Media Storage Policy in Workspaces
We aim to facilitate efficient workflows by hosting storage within Content Hub; however, it's important to note that files stored in Workspaces are only retained for the duration of the project. As a company, Netflix needs to manage storage usage effectively, particularly for titles that are no longer in active use, or users no longer able to access the title’s workspace.
Upon a title's launch, all files in a user's personal Content Hub workspace will have an expiration 180 days from the launch date. This means a 180-day countdown begins post-launch, after which non-assetized files from all users' Workspaces related to that title will be deleted.
Extending File Lifespan Beyond 180 Days
If the files in workspaces remain important, they should be retained in other manners, such as through the Asset Library, Content Hub | MPS Tools pipeline, Mailbox Submission, Requests, or retained through other physical or cloud alternative storage outside of Content Hub.
However, we understand that there might be instances where files are needed beyond the 180 days to make sure needed files have been properly assetized or backed up.
In such cases, users can request a temporary extension within Content Hub. When asking for an extension, users will be required to provide a reason, to help us understand the business use cases for non-assetized media and their lifespan. We hope these insights aid in improving our product .
How It Works
For Content Hub Workspaces users, we have introduced an interactive feature, enabling users to make informed decisions about their uploaded media.
Upon a title's launch, Workspace users will see a new modal prompting them to choose what to do with their personal workspace.
Users can either:
Allow Content Hub to Auto-Delete Files: This will initiate a delete of the user's workspace, 180 days after the launch of a title’s season, movie, or part, whichever is latest.
Request an Extension on File Deletion:
This will postpone the delete for an additional 90 days beyond the initial 180-day post-launch period. Users requesting an extension will need to provide a reason, helping us gather data on usage and identify areas for improvement.
Once nearing the end of the 90 day extension period, users will see the modal again, re-requesting either permission to allow Content Hub to Auto-Delete media after the extension period ends, or ask for another extension. At this time, there is no limit to the number of extensions available to request.
Making Changes to your decisions:
At any time up until the workspace has been deleted, users will be able to change their options by selecting the “Auto-Delete Settings” and updating their choice by following the interface, re-choosing either Allow Content Hub to Auto-Delete Files, or Request an Extension on File Deletion.
Please note: not all files will be deleted from users' Workspaces.